About Us

The research in the Quantum Photonics Laboratory centers on the applications of quantum photonics and quantum optics, as well as the fundamental aspects of the quantum world. We are involved in the experimental design and demonstrations of   quantum photonics devices suitable for communication and computing with photons, and the development of ultra-long distance quantum communication systems using terrestrial and satellite-based systems. We are developing photonic quantum entanglement sources for various quantum protocols, and have pioneered the direct generation of three photon entangled states from cascaded parametric down conversion.

This field combines information processing technologies with the laws of quantum physics and is at the forefront of research today, giving rise to powerful new information tools such as quantum computing and quantum cryptography. Our group is a part of the Institute for Quantum Computing at the University of Waterloo.

Motivated students are very welcome to contact Professor Thomas Jennewein directly for more details. Our laboratory is primarily located at the Mike & Ophelia Lazaridis Quantum-Nano Centre (QNC).

Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on About Us

Group Leader

Thomas Jenneweinhttps://services.iqc.uwaterloo.ca/people/image/tjennewe.jpg


Thomas Jennewein is a faculty member of the Institute for Quantum Computing and holds a position of an Associate Professor at the University of Waterloo in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. He is an affiliate of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics in Waterloo and a scholar of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR) in the Quantum Information Processing program, and an associated member of INO. His research focuses on the applications of quantum photonics and quantum optics, in particular for long-distance quantum communications in free-space and with satellites, as well as fundamental aspects of the quantum world.

Prof. Jennewein completed his PhD in 2002 at the University of Vienna. His thesis research on quantum communication and teleportation experiments with entangled photon pairs was awarded the Loschmidt-Prize by the Austrian Physical-Chemical Society. From 2004–2009, Prof. Jennewein was a Senior Scientist at the Vienna branch of the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI), working on experimental quantum photonics. Prof. Jennewein has played a key role in the advancement of long-distance transmission of entangled photons over free space, and his work on quantum cryptography using entangled photons was selected by the American Physical Society as one of the “Top Ten Highlights of 2000.”

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Comments Off on Group Leader

Group Members


Prof. Thomas Jennewein

Research Associates

Dr. Brendon Higgins

Dr. Katanya Kuntz

Dr. Nigar Sultana

Postdoctoral Researchers

Dr. Sara Hosseini

Dr. Shihan Sajeed

Dr. Dogan Sinar

PhD Students

Pablo Palacios Avila

Youn Seok Lee

Sung Eun (Paul) Oh

Ramy Tannous

Masters Students

Joanna Krynski

Xiaoran (Nicole) Li

Kimia Mohammadi

Wilson Wu

Undergraduate Students

Tabitha Arulpragasam

Ria Chakraborty

Alexandra Kirillova

Collaborative Members

Dr. Sascha Agne

Dr. Jean-Philippe Bourgoin

Dr. Deny Hamel

Dr. Jeongwan Jin

Dr. Piotr Kolenderski

Dr. Vadim Makarov

Dr. Eduardo Martin-Martinez

Dr. Christopher Pugh

Dr. Krister Shalm

Dr. Zhizhong Yan

Management & Administration

Paul Godin

Brian Moffat

Jisu Kwon

Former Members


Dr. Elena Anisimova Tabitha Arulpragasam
Muhammad Faisal Aziz Lindsay Babcock
Andrew Bahlmann Christian Barna
Maria Fernanda Ortegon Banoy Dr. Jean-Philippe Bourgoin
Dr. Poompong Chaiwongkhot Veronica Chatrath
Eric Choi Derek Churchill
Artur Czerwiński Dr. Audrey Dot
Ian DSouza Dr. Chris Erven
Jennifer Katherine Fernick Dominic Fluet
Simon Friesen Nick Gigov
Louise Green Thomas Guenthner
Daniel Gustaw  Dr. Aimee (Heinrichs) Gunther
 Kayla Hardie Dr. Bettina Heim
Bassam Helou Catherine Holloway
Dr. Rolf Horn Dr. Hannes Hübel
Kelsey Johnsen Dr. Sarah Kaiser
Jacob Koenig Dr. Piotr Kolenderski
Daniel Kun Thomas Lutz
Allison MacDonald Dr. Eduardo Martin-Martinez
Ian McMullan Dr. Evan Meyer-Scott
Bienvenu Ndagano Victor Reyes Osorio
Marta Palucka Isabelle Racicot
Dipannita Saha Carmelo Scarcella
Antonio Scotland Shubham Singh
Dr. Urbasi Sinha Sebastian Slaman
Jakub Szlachetka Matthew Taylor
Marilyne Thibault Dr. Zhizhong Yan
Mujtaba Zahidy Guanlun Zhao
Tong Zhao
Posted in Uncategorized | Comments Off on Group Members